Surgeon Elected Fellow of American Surgical Association

May 19, 2017

Gazi B. Zibari, MD, director of John C. McDonald Regional Transplant Center as well as the Advanced Surgery Center, both at Willis-Knighton Medical Center, has been elected a Fellow of the American Surgical Association, the oldest surgical association in the United States.

Zibari  was officially elected a Fellow during the ASA annual meeting in Philadelphia. Fellows are selected based on a wide range of backgrounds and achievements, with strong academic credentials and leadership roles in major surgical and non-surgical organizations.

Dr. ZibariDr. Zibari is a graduate of the University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences. Following a general surgery internship and residency at LSU Health Sciences Center in Shreveport, he served a fellowship in abdominal solid organ transplantation  at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he also served as instructor of surgery.

Dr. Zibari returned to LSUHSC Shreveport in 1993, where he served as professor of surgery with tenure, director of pediatric and pancreatic transplantation, chief of the division of transplantation, vice chairman for the department of surgery for academic affairs and Malcolm Feist Chair in transplantation surgery.

He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a member of numerous organizations, including the American Medical Association, the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, the John C. McDonald Surgical Society, Americas Hepato-Pancreatic-Biliary Association (AHPBA), the Society of University Surgeons  and the Southern Surgical Association, among others.

Dr. Zibari is governor of American College of Surgeons, immediate past president of AHPBA and past president of the John C. McDonald Surgical Society, Louisiana Organ Procurement Agency (LOPA), American Foundation for Donation and Transplantation, Surgical Association of Louisiana  and American College of Surgeons-Louisiana Chapter. Additionally, he is an honored recipient of the Ellis Island Medal and Louisiana State Medical Society Community Service Award.